Kambala is an Anglican, Independent day and boarding school for girls located on the rising shore above Rose Bay with a breathtaking view of Sydney Harbour. Founded in 1887, Kambala caters for students from Preparatory (four year olds) to Year 12, with boarders generally entering the School from Year 7.

Kambala offers a broad and holistic education, an excellent teacher-to-student ratio and the opportunity for students to truly excel. Kambala’s rich and varied programs, administered in a positive and supportive environment, inspire every student to realise her own purpose with integrity, passion and generosity. Academically curious and intellectually brave, Kambala aspires to raise leaders of the future.

Though non-selective, Kambala’s history of outstanding academic excellence, is highly regarded. The Year 12 results consistently place Kambala in the top group of schools in New South Wales, a testament to the School’s educational practices and dynamic learning community.

Located in Sydney’s Eastern Suburbs, students enjoy the open space of the oval and lawn areas as well as the beautiful landscaped grounds surrounding the iconic, heritage-listed Tivoli building. Flexible learning spaces are complemented by specialist areas for Visual Arts, Music, Science, Design and Technology, Food Technology and Multimedia. Boarding facilities provide opportunity for individual nurturing. Tivoli, the School’s boarding house  for Years 7 to 9, is a communal environment where all rooms are shared. Tivoli caters for younger students with a well-resourced study section and spacious recreational living. Fernbank, the boarding house for Years 10 to 12, allows great privacy and independence where boarders develop the skills necessary for life after School.





794 New South Head Road, Rose Bay, NSW 2029

+61 2 9388 6777




Minimize Past and present members






*Mr Shane Hogan 2017 - 
*Mrs Debra Kelliher 2014 - 2017
*L Mrs Margaret White 2000 - 2014
 Mr Roderick West 1999 (Interim Head)
*L Mr Peter Moxham 1988-1999
*Mrs Barbara Monk 1985-1987
*L Miss Joyce Gibbons 1966-1984  (2002 deceased)
*L Miss Fifi Hawthorne 1933-1966 (1986 deceased)
*Mrs Flora Stewart 1927-1932
 (Miss Minnie Roseby 1914-1926
*(Miss Clara Roseby 1914-1927 Founding member of Headmistresses Association of NSW 1916
 (Miss Louise Gurney 1887-1914
 (Mlle Augustine Soubeiran 1891-1914


* denotes AHIGS membership - Please note that not all Heads have been members of AHIGS. 

L denotes Life Member